Take a Giggle Break…

(This humorous article comes from the AARP web site.)

Three older friends were discussing the travails of getting older. One lamented “Sometimes I catch myself standing in front of the refrigerator with a jar of mayonnaise in my hand and can’t remember whether I need to put it away or start making a sandwich.”

The second friend chimed in, “I know what you mean. Sometimes I find myself standing at the turn in my stairs and can’t remember whether I was on my way up or on my way down.”

The third responded, “Well, knock on wood that I don’t have that problem.” As she rapped her knuckles on the table, she jumped up exclaiming. “Oh! Someone’s at the door. I’ll get it!”


What do you think?

Do you have a joke or a humorous situation that you want to share?

One thought on “Take a Giggle Break…

  1. I feel like the “frumpy grandma.” More specifically, the frumpy “step-grandma.” My stepson’s wife had her second son on Friday. Yesterday, I took my nearly 12-year-old daughter to see him in the hospital. As we parked, I saw a thin woman with blond hair and great legs walking toward her car. I’m thinking “PLEASE don’t let that be my husband’s ex,” and of COURSE, it was.” We got out of the car, me in my frumpy big sweat pants and t-shirt, 25 pounds overweight, no makeup, fading perm, etc. My daughter is as slim as a reed and looks beautiful, natch. The “ex” looked spectacular, even though the day before, she had looked bloated to me, and I could see she hated that I had made it to the hospital first! She eyed me with a gloating look, then went on to lavish my daughter with praise on how wonderful SHE looked. ARRRGH! Still, when I went in to see my daughter-in-law, I got a big laugh when I said, “Here comes the frumpy mother-in-law!” She said, “Well, at least you don’t try to look 30 years younger than you really are.” The ex is exactly one week younger than me; we are both 52. And the baby is beautiful! Evan Thomas, 7 lbs., 4 oz., 20 inches, and he comes home today. The ex is bringing her second ex-husband and THEIR three boys and adopted daughter, so I’m steering clear till tonight, when I’m bring a casserole over. No, I’m NOT wearing makeup; I never do! 😉

Leave a Reply

