Korea – Those were the days !!

2nd Bn 71st ADA Batallion HQ - Camp Red Cloud, Korea

I entered the Army in 1973 and before the end of that year I was stationed in Camp Red Cloud, Korea (HHB 2/71 ADA). I spent the next three years there and, in all that time I could not give credit to the incredible tenacity and single-mindedness of purpose of the Korean people. At that time, Korea was still a developing country but, they were determined to move out of that status and into the status of “developed” country.

This picture of a “papa-san” hauling kindling on his back is just one of the many examples I saw there of how these people absolutely refused to be deterred. I worked on a hillside that overlooked the town of Uijongbu and, when I got there, I could count on my hands the amount of streetlights the town had. By the time I left in 1976, the town looked like a sea of lights at night.

Uijongbu is a town that is within 15 miles of the demilitarized zone (DMZ) that separates communist North Korea, controlled today by Kim Il Jong, from democratic South Korea. At the time I was stationed there, it was a town of about 30,000 people and there were a lot of agrarian areas; mostly rice paddies that were worked from sunup to sundown six days a week. For the most part, it did not look much different from the rice paddies you see in the movies.

The one thing that made it different was the sentry towers. I’m not talking about military towers; these were civilian towers in the middle of the rice paddy field for the purpose of watching over and protecting the crop from predators. During the whole cycle, from planting all the way to harvesting, there would always be someone on the tower at night, watching and guarding. I remember thinking that people that have such single-mindedness of purpose are formidable indeed.

I consider those three years like a college education in the university of life, complete with the college style parties, drinking and everything else. Even though at the time I thought I was in the 3rd pit of hell, I have to admit that it was during that time that I changed from a teenager (a boy) into a young man. There were lots of good times, lots of hard times and life changing decisions.


What do you think?
Where you in the military during the 70’s?
Did you go overseas?
What were your experiences?
What impressed you? 

One thought on “Korea – Those were the days !!

  1. I was stationed at CRC in 1974 April to Sep. 1975. You probally remember me..I was attacked in the village and recieved a bad head injury 38 stitches, by fellow soldiers 4. from a line battery as I was walking back to camp with a ssg. friend. After the attack my memory comes and goes but I will never forget that night. I worked in S4..incharge of work orders on the hawk sites. I have just file a claim with the VA. This was just a wrong place at the wrong time event. This group terroized quite a few people that night including the civilians. Two of them held a knife to the ssg. I was with and the other two layed in on me. Hitting me in the head with those 32 once beer mugs. I wasnt out looking for trouble but that night it found me. I feel in love with Korea especially goig out in the field with the other units and really seeing how the Korean people were away from CRC. They are a very caring and gentle people.

Leave a Reply

