I’m a boomer – what do I aspire to?

I love the title Angela used to talk about aspirations (Ok, As a Boomer, My New Aspiration for the Future Is…)! Even though her blog is very light- hearted and humorous, it got me thinking about what I want to aspire to now that I’m a boomer.

The more I think about this the more I come back to the one thing that did not finish, the one thing that was very important but, life got in the way. I never finished college; in fact, I had just barely started when I left for the army. Now that my kids are grown up, I keep hearing this voice saying “unaccomplished, unaccomplished!” like an itch that I just have to scratch.

The logical part of me says “are you out of your mind?!”; how are you going to pay for it? For that matter, what are you going to do once you finish? You’ll be almost sixty by the time you finish, what are you going to do? What if you can’t find a job that can pay the expenses of the college loans?

My gut, however, keeps gnawing at me saying, “take the chance, take the risk, you don’t know what you can find at the other end…” And it just keeps itching, and itching, and itching…..


What do you think?
Are you thinking about going back to school again?
How would you feel being among all those youngsters?
Would you “go for it?” 

4 thoughts on “I’m a boomer – what do I aspire to?

  1. Go for it, George!

    “Regret for the things we did can be tempered by time; it is regret for the things we did not do that is inconsolable.” Sidney J. Harris

  2. Go for it. I wrote a comment yesterday about a grandma who took up guitar lessons at 60 and now at 71, she’s cutting a CD. She can play a mean Santana! Me – I’ve just closed one chapter of my life and opening another, -going back to school to learn a different trade is an open option for me, just haven’t decided exactly what I want to do.

  3. You’ll probably be 60 either way…do you want to have a gigantic feeling of accomplishment to go along with being 60?

    My sense is that if that “still, small voice” keeps coming spontaneously from within, you should listen to it! Midlife means listening to your intuition like never before…time’s a wasting.

    The Queen

Leave a Reply

